Exactly one year ago at this very moment I picked up Stacy McCain at South station

Posted: January 14, 2011 by datechguy in personal
Tags: ,

in Boston.

I had absolutely no idea that this moment would become life changing.

I was before that moment a guy who was blogging a bit while looking for a tech support gig, finding interviews few and far between. I had not been on an Airplane in 17 years, had never been to DC, Virginia or Georgia and had not really met any of my fellow bloggers.

By the end of one week I was a credentialed Blogger at the Scott Brown Victory party. Over the course of the year i’ve been to CPAC, Started writing for Examiner.com, Covered tax day rallies in Boston and DC, Ridden on the Tea Party express, Covered a congressional race in Georgia, attended Blogcon, Stopped by the Black Family reunion, Interviewed Renne Ellmers who would eventually become Congresswomen Ellmers, Covered the 9/11 & 9/12 rallies in DC, Watched the production of the Dancing Barney Frank Video, Went on a road trip through 5 states, Interviewed Ann Marie Buerkle (now congresswoman Buerkle) , Covered congressional debates and attended victory parties and now host my radio show DaTechGuy on DaRadio.

This has in short been one of the most eventful and interesting years I have lived.

But all of it started with A tip jar request, an offer to put Stacy up for a week (since I didn’t have the cash to spare) and a drive to Boston and the rest is history.

Comments
  1. Roxeanne de Luca says:

    Just under a year ago, I went to the counter-rally at Northeastern in support of Scott Brown. My tea party friends were going, as well as a friend from high school. I was sincerely hoping that there would be a respectable turn-out, not just me and five of my friends there, the die-hard crew, holding a few signs.

    When I got there, it was madness. “It’s the people’s seat” signs outnumbered Obama signs. Some guy drove around in a truck with a bullhorn, encouraging people to vote for Scott Brown. Someone else stuck a chair (the people’s seat!) in the back of a flatbed truck, had plexiglass around the whole thing, and ringed the bottom with Scott Brown signs. My “Top 5 Reasons to Vote for Scott Brown” sign (including “Blame Bush is sooo last decade”) barely registered on the Richter scale down there.

    On the 19th, I met Stacy. About two minutes later, he introduced me to you and Ace. Then, the “nice young man” (aka Major Commitment-phobe) met you.

    It was already a year ago?!?

  2. Wow, thanks for sharing this wee autobiography. I had been getting tidbits here and there over the last year thru Insty links, but this put it together for me in a much larger picture. I hope that 2011 is even more exciting.

    cheers