I talked to Jim Gilcrist of the Minutemen today…

Posted: May 5, 2010 by datechguy in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

…and asked him for his reaction on the Phoenix Suns business today.

He informed me he thought this was an extremely short sighted and foolish move by both the Suns and the NBA that would likely backfire. He believes that most of the people complaining haven’t actually read the law and are working off of what the media has said.

I brought up the example of the Suns checking tickets or letting people in without enforcing their own admission rules he said that gets to the point of the issue.

I’m grateful for the Minuteman project for getting back to me. I’m still waiting to hear back from the Suns concerning my interview requests via both phone and e-mail.

I ask again, will the Suns decide to check for tickets of people trying to get in? Will they decide to check the tickets of people sitting in seats to see if they are in the right seats? What will they use to determine if they check. Will they profile the people in the stadium?

The Phoenix Suns Basketball Communications (Media) line is (602) 379-7920. If they don’t get back to me perhaps you might ask them the same question?

Comments
  1. […] I talked to Jim Gilcrist of the Minutemen today… « DaTechguy's Blog Says: May 5, 2010 at 1:52 pm […]

  2. barbara vinyard says:

    It’s interesting, that Steve Nash of the Phoenix Suns is not a citizen of the us, and he critisize’s our law’s? (arizona). I’m wondering if he will wear a jersey of the killed rancher from Douglas, az?

  3. Rob C says:

    What the h-e-double hockeysticks is “Los Suns” anyways? You’d think these people could actually speak Spanish and be “El Sol”.

    Ah well.

  4. I guess the Red Sox should no longer wear green hats on Saint Patricks Day, or no longer should all the players in mlb wear #42 on April 15 to honor Jackie Robinson.

    Its Cinco de Mayo. Thats why they are wearing the alternate home jersey…again.

    Regarding the law in Arizona, even though it matters none to me since I don’t live there, if their residents want to pay higher taxes towards law enforcement when it comes to immigration be my guest. I don’t care, I don’t live there.

    There are two issues here.

    The first is a failure by the United States Congress to come up with and enforce stricter immigration laws. If an individual state has to pass its own individual immigration law thats just sad. No state funds should be used for anything pertaining to international borders. It is a Federal Issue and should be Federally enforced by Federal Agents.

    Second any state/county/city law enforcement official who chooses to not enforce the law should be relieved of their duty. It is their job to enforce the laws and make arrests.. Their job is not to judge the merits of the law. That of course is for a, you guessed it, a judge to decide.