Athiests for Islam?

Posted: March 9, 2011 in catholic, internet/free speech, oddities
Tags: , ,

Warner Todd Huston has an interesting article that I’d like to say caught me by surprise:

Isn’t Islam just as “dangerous” to the world as Christianity in these Atheist’s minds? It has to be for them to be consistent.

Yet, again. Here they are. Supporting a religion.

Ah, but what is the main difference here? Isn’t it obvious? Islam is the PC favored ideology, the one the far left has invested its energies into protecting and militant atheists have joined the left’s gambit in the hopes that Christianity can be further undermined. Because, after all, militant atheists have only one enemy: Christianity.

Not being an Atheist I don’t know what Atheists think. The one’s I’ve met have not had much good to say about Islam, but it’s my thought that a lot of the most prominent Atheists come from Christian culture and are naturally more hostile to what they are rebelling against.

Or it could also be a question of fear of Islam, a-la south park and Molly Norris, but I’ll let my atheist readers comment one way or the other.

Comments
  1. There is a difference between supporting a religion and supporting a religious minority that is in danger of being oppressed or otherwise having their rights infringed upon.

    If we lived in a country that was completely Islamic and there was a Christian minority that was being unfairly targeted in certain ways, I’d call myself an atheist for Christianity.

    All that being said, one guy with a sign does not imply that anyone else agrees with him. I dislike both Christianity and Islam. Christians and Muslims, at least in this country, are mostly decent people.

  2. Roxeanne de Luca says:

    It’s probably a conservative/liberal distinction more than anything else. Back in my hard-core atheist days, I hated radical Islam (love my Islam friends, respect their right to practise their religion, but hate the Taliban, Al Qaeda, etc.) – but I was always a conservative feminist. As many of my friends pointed out as well, even if you don’t believe in Christianity or Judiasm, those who have been raised in a Judeo-Christian environment agree with a lot of the moral tenets.

    Which brings me to my second point: those who support radical Islam (i.e. Muslim Brotherhood, what is practised in the Middle East, etc.) are ignorant of it. Ayaan Hirshi Ali is an atheist (last I checked) but hates the Islamic religion, because it cut out her ladyparts, forced her into marriage, and resulted in the death of her sister. People who live in comfortable, safe Western homes, protected by Judeo-Christian values, have the luxury of giving moral sanction to the Islamic religion in all its forms.