Texas Sparkle hits it out of the park on the black family

Posted: February 19, 2011 in blogs, culture
Tags: , , , ,

As Jessie Jackson and our first (or is it second?) black president speak up in support of predominately white protesters in Wisconsin (and the 100k+ a year crowd) Texas Sparkle talks about a pet peeve of mine that is often ignored

With 70% of black babies born into unwed homes, and with more black men in prison than in college, the black family is in crisis. It’s no secret. I’ve written about it, Pres. Obama has talked about it, many black leaders have addressed it.

At the very root of the problems in the African American community is fatherless homes. A child needs a father. I think we can see in the inner city what happens when a father is not there. A child finds itself lost. To repair the black family it is essential that we bring fathers back into the home.

The question has always been, how do we do that?

How indeed, with the NAACP more concerned about tea parties than teenagers and black abortion rates through the roof, how do you rebuild the black family that has been so well served by 50 years of liberalism? Sparkle has found something, or rather been informed of something

A black gentleman named Giacomo Knox got in touch with me about a web series he produced called, “A Week With My Father.”

Please go and view the episodes. They are brief excerpts. From the first minute of the first one, I had tears rolling down my face. The series is a journey of black men who never knew their fathers, finding them, and spending a week with them. In this journey we not only learn the importance of fathers, but also about forgiveness and healing. I don’t think we can measure the hole in the hearts of fatherless children.

Knox’s experience is not about drugs or prison. He was a marine, and he has found his way in life without his father, but many men who see this show, no matter what dire circumstances they are in, will be able to relate to either leaving their children or being left. Even with being a good man, Knox still yearns for his father.

Let’s face facts, the black leadership is too busy protecting political prerogatives to care about this problem. Only the actual community can solve it and Knox’s efforts are a step in that direction. How can you help?

James. Knox’s hope is to get either a Network / Cable deal, or find a Corporate Sponsor to fund 26 episodes and sell the project in Syndication.

I’m just one small voice, so I need your help to spread this message. Tweet it, e-mail about it, facebook it. We need to get the attention of someone in the Network or Cable business.

Ok guys let’s go for it!

Comments
  1. michelle says:

    I’ve asked Kathleen over the years why she is so focused on the relatively small number of African Americans in this type of situation instead of helping the larger number of people in her community in the same or worse situations.

    Numerically, there are far more non-Hispanic whites that are in fatherless families than minorities. She has never ever suggested any solutions for those children. Nor has she ever suggested a specific solution to the problems of unwed mothers or pregnant teens in her community.

    (And before you lose your cool, Kathleen lives in The Woodlands, which is 92% non-Hispanic white.)

  2. michelle says:

    You seemed to have missed my point.

    Kathleen differentiates based on race. She thinks that since her outreach to a particular community has an externally happy face, that she and her ideas should be embraced by that community.

    But that not how it looks from the other side. To the people she is targeting, it’s more of a mote in the eye thing.

  3. michelle says:

    That’s really clever how you just mis-characterized what I wrote. I have not attacked her. I have asked her and also pointed out how misguided she has been.

    She’s not “doing good.” She’s simply trying to be the happy face to the African-American community. My suggestion to her and to you as one of her cheerleaders is to address the problems without regard to race or ethnicity.

    Who knows why she focuses on the African-American community and not on her own or the problem in general. What do you think? Could it be political? Why not focus on all fatherless children?

  4. michelle says:

    I found this link to your blog via memeorandum. I happen to have a history with this blogger that goes back several years. She’s been hammering this point of focusing on the negatives in the African-American community for some time, much like other conservative commentators. Long ago, I called her out on her racially and politically motivation focus using numbers and facts. The fact is that the non-Hispanic white community has a much bigger problem in terms of fatherless children, teen pregnancy and abortion than any other community.

    The good she wants to come from her efforts are more African-Americans voting for her preferred candidates. That’s it. She’s the happy face on a strategy that the GOP has been working on for years because as you know, the numbers are not in their favor. Your comparing her actions to a president is just hilarious.

    Lastly, had you taken a bit of time to look at my blog — automatically linked here since I’m also on wordpress — you would see that I am already a big radiophile and don’t need any adverts or happy talk. However, if you do conservative stand up, I might be interested. I listen to Chris Baker after all :)

    If that link doesn’t work it’s because you are behind the times in your comment section. It been years since I had to remember that code.

  5. michelle says:

    And while you are updating your commenting scheme, could you allow for edits? This is so backwards it’s frustrating.

  6. michelle says:

    So you ARE a conservative comedian. Good to know.

  7. Kathleen McKinley says:

    datechguy,

    I really appreciate you blogging about this. Just so you know, michelle is a stalker troll of mine so it’s best not to feed her. In fact it’s best to just ignore her. She kinda stopped bothering me when her work found out she was using school computers (and taxpayer money) to spread her hate. I guess they need reminding again.

    Also, I don’t live in The Woodlands.

  8. michelle says:

    Kathleen, you have a strange hold on the truth. I have never used any computer at work for anything other than work. While I work at a state institution, my department is income generating. My salary and that of all of my colleagues and all of the equipment in our department is paid for by international students. In other words, I bring foreign money into our community and have for years. I have never been paid one thin dime of tax payer money.

    And lastly, if you finally decide to contact my employer (which you nor any of your fanbois ever has), please set up a time for that long anticipated visit to our program. We’ve got Muslims from all over the world who would just love to meet you!

  9. michelle says:

    You can ask Kathleen about why I said that. She knows that several years ago when she was making bigoted statements about Muslim while never having met a single one, I offered to introduce her to some of my students, so she could see that they are decent regular people.

    That you construed my comment in any other way than how it was intended reflects on you, not me. What happened to the two victims in Egypt has nothing to do with Muslims or their religion. It has to do with men. I said I would introduce her to my Muslim students — I never thought you would construe that to mean only males. That’s just weird. Perhaps you should reflect on why that was your reaction to what I wrote, instead of taking it for what it was: an invitation for Kathleen to meet people from another culture and religion which she has no experience with. And for you to suggest that what I wrote was insulting to Muslims is rich. Clearly it’s your opinion of Muslims that is insulting and vulgar.

    But it’s your blog. You can say what you like.

  10. […] help, but more people in Texas are on government support in this state than any other.  Most of them are white […]

  11. Datechguy,

    Just so you know I have never said anything bigoted or insulting about Muslims. Ever. Which is why she can’t give an example. Michelle used to leave comments at my site all the time and the IP addresses were from her school, which is why I knew she was using their computers. Sadly, Michelle has issues. I only wish the best for her. I wish she would focus on her students instead of mad vendettas on people she doesn’t even know. She may not realize it, but others have contacted her work. So, for her sake, I hope she is careful. Jobs are hard to find.

  12. Giacomo says:

    Well, I’m glad my show can generate so much interest and chatter, but I hope that no one expects that this is either a black or Christian show, but a show about men who don’t know their fathers. It should be noted that I’m a multi-racial American, of course, but I am more readily identified as a black man. This isn’t a far stretch, considering my skin tone and my hometown of Newark; one of the largest black populations on the East Coast.

    The problem of fatherless homes is skyrocketing in homes of all racial backgrounds; we’ve even seen fatherless homes growing in places like India, Germany, and the UK – places where we are pitching the show. This problem is one of selfishness and irresponsibility on the part of both mother and father, and sadly a by-product of LBJ’s “War on Poverty”.

    One of the secondary goals of the show is to change the minds of men who have children, and men who grew up without their fathers. We of course recognize that girls need their dads as well, and will be featuring fathers reuniting with their daughters, once the show is fully funded.

    Thanks for all the posts!

    G-Man