Archive for February 8, 2011

It’s interesting but almost a cliche. What I think is more interesting and much sadder is that now the Rendell is out office and will never be running or holding office again, his marriage is over.

The question, they have been married for 40 years. How many years did they stay together strictly so he could be a married family man while running for or in office?

Am I the only one who finds this very very distasteful?

Instapundit, Stacy and Legal Insurrection and hotair headlines have all commented on this story concerning social scientists and the left:

If you want to really understand why I believe that the same elitist attitudes that caused democrats to support Slavery, Jim Crow and abortion (all three are about one group of people being better or more worthy than others) still run strong check out the comments section of the story itself:

Stuff like this:

Interesting article, but not proof of bias. There may be a selectivity effect that explains the dominance of liberals in the social sciences.

Or this:

The same “bias” would show up among physicists and other “hard” science people. Conclusions? Draw your own. Mine? Most thinking people are not very likely to be what you call “conservative”.

Or this:

there’s a bias against non-thinking people in a lot of fields.. that would mean non -liberal.

Or this:

Alternative hypothesis: closed-minded conservatives don’t make very good scientists.

All these comments were highly recommended by times readers, now lets play a game and re-write all of these comments with the words “liberal” and “conservative” replaced by “whites” and “blacks”:

Interesting article, but not proof of bias. There may be a selectivity effect that explains the dominance of “whites” in the social sciences.

The same “bias” would show up among physicists and other “hard” science people. Conclusions? Draw your own. Mine? Most thinking people are not very likely to be what you call “black“.

there’s a bias against non-thinking people in a lot of fields.. that would mean non –“whites”.

Alternative hypothesis: closed-minded “blacks” don’t make very good scientists.

Ladies and gentlemen I give you the children of Alexander Stephens and Cotton Ed Smith, the modern democratic party, same arrogance, same bigotry, different targets.

In my opinion you don’t cede the ground on a position to a different side, you show up and make your case.

I don’t have a problem with those who choose to boycott CPAC, Its their call but I’d just as soon not have the case for marriage conceded. I would think that the hearts and minds of thousands of conservatives in one place, hundreds of bloggers and etc are worth fighting for.

Although I am a Catholic I have to be with Jerry Falwell on this: “I’ll preach in hell if they promise to let me out.” or if you prefer one of my favorite movie reference:

British Captain: “I understood Mr. LaFitte was in command at Barataria.”

Jean LaFitte: “If your offer is good it will stand up under fire.”

The arguments for marriage are good, they stand up under fire. We should go to CPAC and make them.

Update: Lisa Graas who I respect a lot takes the opposite view: Sarah Palin has it wrong on CPAC

Up very early today and was doing paperwork and I noticed Willie Geist playing a clip from Donald Rumsfeld’s interview on ABC about the lack of WMD in Iraq.

This confuses me. Back in Oct and Dec. we posted on the Wikileaks memos (you remember the wikileaks memos? You know the leaks that the left is so supportive of. The leaks that got Mr. Assange a nomination for a Nobel peace prize?) the left was all over the leaks and have even defended the leaker from the military.

Strangely enough that same media and left decided that some of those leaks are more worthy of notice than others. And one of the most unworthy leaks for the MSM are the leaks concerning WMD.

At the time of my first post I quoted Rick Moran from the American Thinker:

Don’t expect any apologies from the rest of the world or even any acknowledgment that they were wrong. The narrative is set and nothing will change it.

ABC’s Diane Sawyer’s interview proves Rick right. Willie Geist’s lead in confirms it, Morning Joe is on Egypt right now but as there is a 2 hour delay today for my kid’s school and I’ll be getting ready for my flight to CPAC tomorrow I’ll be available to watch the rest of the show to see if they touch it too.