Reading the speech now

Posted: January 25, 2011 in opinion/news
Tags: ,

Assuming this is the correct speech, long and boring, signifying little.

With the mixed audience the idea is to make it look like heavy applause. I’m tired so I don’t know if I want to bother, but I want to hear what Bachmann says afterward.

Either way the media will paint it as a centrist call for action and a triumph and the republican response as petty. Why even bother, the spin is preordained. I’ve seen this movie before.

If he wanted to make a good speech this would be it:

“As times are hard, all over America people are spending carefully to live within their means. From this point forward I pledge that government will do the same.”

The end

Comments
  1. […] of the speech, to read along or something, the Washington Post has that. It looks long. Update: Da TechGuy weighs in after reading the text: Either way the media will paint it as a centrist call for action […]