Are People still falling for this e-mail scam?

Posted: January 13, 2011 in tech
Tags: ,

Checking the e-mail and I got this today:

My Dear,

after reading your profile, i decided to contact you for long term relationship and business partnership.

I Alfred Samzo, 20 years old boy from Republic of Cote D’Ivoire (Ivory Coast ) in west africa. Beside , i am an ophan but inherited all my late father’s wealth. though money is not everything but love, caring and togetherness is important in life.

I intend to establish good relationship with you and also intend to start a lucrative business in your country under your help. though we have not met before but i believe one has to try some certain risk sometimes in order to succed in life.

I inherited Ten Million U.S Dollars, which my late fether deposited in a bank here in Abidjan, (Cote D’Ivoire) before he was assasinated by unknown people. i have decided to invest these money in your country or anywhere safe enough out side my country for security and political reasons. i want you to help me transfer these money from here into your designated bank account in your country for investment purposes .

I will like you to contact me immediately, or call me on my private phone number +225-0914-9076,

Thanks

Alfred Samzo,

I’m amazed to see these scams till having an effect, I guess like the wire in the Sting is it so old that some might have forgotten it.

I have one thing to say to people foolish enough to fall for this. Put $50 in my tip jar instead. If you Hit my tip jar, it will cost you a whole lot less money than that phone call and the scam that will follow it plus you will get a return of commentary and insights that will be of value to you.

Take my advice, put this type of mail in your spam folder and delete asap.

Comments
  1. Dave C says:

    Scam? No, my friend.. That’s only my ship that’s about to come in…

    Any day now.. Yessirree.