A Christmas photo album The Charpentier Christmas display

Posted: December 22, 2010 in catholic, local stuff, special events
Tags: , , ,

The greatest Christmas display in our area is not flashy; but is hand-made.

Louis Charpentier’s Christmas display began before I was born and will likely continue after I’m dead although the 100-year-old Mr. Charpentier children and grandchildren will be carrying the load.

For those of you not close enough come and see it yourself, here are the photos so you can see it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you don’t want to see it piecemeal here is the whole thing together via youtube, at night it is even more impressive:

He actually carves another piece each year to add to the display

The Boston Globe did a story on him last year, and the Catholic Free Press did one today. How you can do this story without photos of the display is beyond me.

As impressive as all this is, it pales before the life-size crucifix he carved for St. Cecilia’s church in Leominster. When I get a chance I’ll swing by and take a shot of it, I can’t believe I can’t find an image of it on the net.

Comments are closed.