A reason to give thanks

Posted: November 25, 2010 in personal
Tags:

There are a lot of reasons to give thanks on Thanksgiving day. I want to mention one that recently came up.

As you know with the Radio Show I’m just flat-out. The mornings consist of reading news and getting a few blog posts up and scheduled (in between getting the youngest to school) I’m usually out every day schlepping ads during the day When I get home I’m calling corporate offices or e-mailing my pitch and then working on scripts for people who either have bought or are potential buyers..

That being the case It’s easy to miss an e-mail. As I was setting up my Quickbooks I went to paypal to get the info on some ad payments when I noticed a $100 gift from a person I met in February.

You have to remember three years ago $100 represented 5 hours at my old job. Four weeks ago $100 represented one day of unemployment. Today $100 represents hours of knocking on doors and making my pitch to business after business in the hopes of selling ad space for the Radio Show and 1/12th of my monthly mortgage.

I e-mailed my thanks to the gentleman and reminded him that since I have a radio show now I could apply the money toward an ad for his business if he wanted.

His answer: This is a gift that is my pleasure to give.

How can you not be thankful for something like that?

To all of you out there, readers, listeners, commentators, and to those who I have had the pleasure to meet a Happy Thanksgiving and many more.

Comments
  1. steveegg says:

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours.

  2. […] my blog brethren (blethren?) took time out of their day to wish us all a Happy Thanksgiving, which is really […]