Why am I writing about Mildred Jefferson over a month after she died?

Posted: November 23, 2010 in local issues, opinion/news
Tags: , , , , , ,

Simply to make a small point.

Mildred Jefferson was the first black woman to graduate from Harvard Medical School. This is the type of thing that one might have seen moving tributes on many TV shows. Not simple editorials but large tributes in papers and perhaps even a major magazine article. After all her achievement was not insignificant, it was in 1951 that she graduated from Harvard Medical. This is in the middle of Jim Crow, before MLK.

Why is there less fuss? Because of quotes like this:

“I became a physician in order to help save lives. I am at once a physician, a citizen, and a woman, and I am not willing to stand aside and allow the concept of expendable human lives to turn this great land of ours into just another exclusive reservation where only the perfect, the privileged, and the planned have the right to live.”

You see she founded National right to life applauded by Roe v Wade. That’s why you see long essays in the American Spectator and feminists for life.

I met her only one, during the hearings in Fitchburg in January. I actually had no idea who she was, but said this about her testimony:

With a quiet and calm demeanor she made the case that Fitchburg would be a less pleasant place with Planned parenthood. Her best argument however was the description of Planned Parenthood in terms of practices and their use of organizations that they fund to support their positions as if they were independent.

Consider, this is a person who is known within the movement and must have had many demands on her time and life, and yet, on a cold winter day she made the time to come to Fitchburg Mass. to fight for the lives of the unborn.

I consider myself a well-informed person and one who follows history, I am shocked that I didn’t know this woman, but I shouldn’t be, because the MSM and foes of abortion could not allow it for they might be inspired and that can’t be allowed to happen.

Comments are closed.