MSNBC gives the GOP a 3rd gift…

Posted: November 8, 2010 in media
Tags: , ,

…by putting Olberman back on the air.

In terms of keeping his niche market happy, it’s a good move, when your entire stratagem is to keep the left happy you can’t bother to throw away one of their messiah and if some other network took Olberman he might take a good chunk of the left with him, particularly since Maddow spent her show defending him.

In terms of right and wrong, I think its fair. I think the policy is foolish in this age, Olberman’s non-disclosure earned the suspension given the policy but not a permanent one. I’d change the policy myself.

In terms of the right it will be interesting to see how he reacts to the number of people on the right who said it was unfair to boot him. I don’t expect him to have much to say on it.

Finally for the GOP it’s the third gift this week. As I said before there is absolutely no chance of Keith Olberman convincing anyone not already in the tank for the left of anything. Every there he is there is a lost chance for the left and another day that MSNBC fails to go beyond the lazy bounds they have chosen.

Update: Ed Driscoll

Limousine Leftist Keith needs MSNBC to pocket his $7 million a year. MSNBC needs Keith to keep them at the top of the bottom of the news rating heap. Rather than risk further mutual assured self-immolation, where else was either party going to go?

Oh I don’t know, try to grow beyond a niche market?

And the comments at Huffpo are interesting.

Comments
  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Peter Ingemi, Peter Ingemi. Peter Ingemi said: how did @joenbc know I was writing this post today? #MSNBC gives the GOP a 3rd gift…: http://wp.me/pnQZ0-5J2 #olberman #morningjoe #gop […]