Stacy on the Olberman story

Posted: November 5, 2010 in internet/free speech, media
Tags: , , ,

As my own opening day on the air approaches we discover that Keith Olberman is off. Robert Stacy McCain points out the nonsense that is this business:

Being strictly a neutral, objective journalist myself — “Ethics, shmethics!” — I don’t think Olbermann should be fired from NBC, which is as about as neutral and objective as Pravda or the Daily Worker. There is already a serious unemployment crisis looming among Democrats:

William Kristol: cries Keep Keith and makes valid points. Here is #2:

Second, he’s not a reporter. It’s an opinion show. If Olbermann wants to put his money where his mouth is, more power to him.

Personally I think Kristol is being smart. He along with the rest of the right knows that Keith Olberman has the same chance of persuading any non moonbat to vote Democrat as I have of not only Scoring with Linda Carter but living to tell the tale after my wife found out. Once he is replaced then MSNBC has a slight chance to actually find someone who might be effective.

All those points are valid, I think it is a bit of holier than thou, but I also think the problem is not the donations, but the non-disclosure. If there was full disclosure it wouldn’t be an issue but he had some of those people on. It should have been disclosed in fact he could have said, I gave the max and you should too.

I’m with Goldberg, the rule should be lifted but until it is MSNBC is within their rights and without the disclosure he should at the very least be suspended.

Full disclosure Andrea Shea King once lent me $20 for a Taxi and refused to be repaid, so I kicked in $20 for Gas to the tea party express in Worcester. I guess I won’t be replacing Olby.

Update: There is a serious outbreak of Snarkenfeude on the right side of the ‘sphere.

Comments
  1. […] See Da Techguy for some “serious snarkitude”. […]

  2. radiopatriot says:

    You are a mensch. Thanks for passing the $20 forward to a good cause. Looking forward to being a guest on your new show (hint…)

    Good to see you in “Woostah”. Funny how our paths seem to keep crossing!

    Warm regards,

    The Radio Patriot

  3. Steve says:

    THANK YOU for posting this! I’m glad I found your blog!!

    Steve
    Common Cents
    http://www.commoncts.blogspot.com