Most Valuable Red Sox Tim Wakefield

Posted: October 29, 2010 in baseball, local stuff
Tags: , ,

I have always been a sucker for knuckeball pitchers, from Hoyt Wilhelm, to Charlie Hough to Tom Candiotti to Wilbur Wood and of course the Niekro Brothers.

When Tim Wakefield almost won the 1992 playoffs vs Atlanta for Pittsburgh I was impressed.

When the Red Sox picked him up I was thrilled.

Wakefield has started and relieved and has been an innings machine. People underestimate the value of such a role, it saves many arms in the bullpen.

Wakefield is one of the most beloved pitchers in the history of the franchise. Who else could give up the series losing Home run in 2003 and be embraced the very next year?


Live at 5 reports
that Tim Wakefield has won the Clemente award this year.

I’m loving it.

Comments
  1. plum says:

    Saw this on TV last night. I love Wake. I’ll be so sad when he retires.

  2. […] from: Most Valuable Red Sox Tim Wakefield « Da Techguy's Blog AKPC_IDS += "265,"; AKPC_IDS += […]