Tonight’s Debate between Marty Lamb (R), Jim McGovern (D), Pat Barron (I)

Posted: October 14, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

Here is a slideshow of the debate accompanied by some commentary:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I think it was an even fight, Marty Lamb and Pat Barron hit Jim McGovern, Jim McGovern and the Moderator hit Marty Lamb and Pat Barron 2 on 2.

Even worse when the Moderator didn’t like that hostile questions were directed at McGovern she went after those asking questions. I think she cost McGovern more votes by such tactics and the public in this state is very much aware of what the media did with Obama in 2008. It was a very poor job.

I think Pat Barron won the debate, he answered crisply and directly.

Talked to several people off camera they thought he knew Barron knew his stuff but didn’t like him, too negative. I disagree.

I thought Marty started tentative due to the moderator interrupting him off the bat but got stronger as the debate went on

Jim McGovern was an effective counter-puncher although the debate made that hard to do. He constantly talked about what congress should do and fix but since he has been in congress for 15 years, why isn’t it done? I am very glad that I wasn’t drinking when he called himself tough on immigration.

He however (although he misrepresented public opinion on the issue) actually praised the healthcare bill and stood by it. That was actually kind of refreshing.

Marty Lamb praised McGovern for his constituent services.

McGovern has more money and the signs outside sure indicated it. He did a great job turning out his people for the standout.

When this election is done I’d like to see Pat Barron run for another office.

There was a pretty good tea party turnout.

Things certainly aren’t boring here in the 3rd Massachusetts

I’ll be uploading video tonight and posting during the day tomorrow

Stacy McCain’s take is here I also have video of the McGovern statement in the full question that was asked that prompted it:

i thought the question was interesting particularly since so many non pols are running this year everywhere.

Update: I think Marty’s answer is more deserving of attention because it is an AWESOME answer to this question and also points to a phenom I’ve seen all over the place. The idea of citizens coming to serve from all walks of life is very important to our republican field this year and would give a perspective to congress that it NEEDS desperately!

Comments
  1. […] by Jane Jamison at Uncoverage and Dave C. at The Point of a Gun. Meanwhile, 3rd District voter Da Tech Guy strives to be fair and balanced, but Jehuda the Rhetorican is glad that at last an honest Democrat has been found in […]

  2. […] Democrat Jim McGovern Says, ‘I Think the Constitution Is Wrong’ : The Other McCain on Tonight’s Debate between Marty Lamb (R), Jim McGovern (D), Pat Barron (I)Roxeanne de Luca on We certainly hope he will be […]

  3. […] Top Posts Tonight's Debate between Marty Lamb (R), Jim McGovern (D), Pat Barron (I)I would love to have the courage of these CatholicsMy interview with Mattie Fein (r) candidate for […]

  4. […] Top Posts Tonight's Debate between Marty Lamb (R), Jim McGovern (D), Pat Barron (I)I would love to have the courage of these CatholicsMy interview with Mattie Fein (r) candidate for […]

  5. […] Voices of the Candidates: Closing statements ma-3 Debate Questions from the ma-3 Debate Voices of the Candidates: Marty Lamb (r) ma-3 post debate DaTechGuy’s Field Guide to Bloggers: Right Wing Granny Voices of the Voters: Brian Hood Voices of the voters: Tina Hood Tonight’s Debate between Marty Lamb (R), Jim McGovern (D), Pat Barron (I) […]