Archive for October 3, 2010

Dianne Williamson makes some interesting points in this column that made my wife laugh out loud:

Despite his City Hall harem, the 17-year mayor keeps getting re-elected. Is he so popular that voters are willing to overlook the indiscretions?

Well considering Leominster has a thriving downtown, a surplus and is in financially solid shape while Fitchburg next door can’t afford to keep on its streetlights while taxes and fees rise I think that might be a clue.

I asked the wife if she would rather have had Dean J. Mazzarella as mayor for the last 20 years here, she didn’t bat an eyelash: “I’ll take the Leominster Lothario.”

Williamson’s case is a valid one but I tend to remember an awful lot of women in this state who were much more forgiving of a certain fellow in the White House a decade and a half ago and a certain senator who ruled Massachusetts for my entire life. As Stacy McCain reminds us:

the conservative who tries to turn the tables on that argument — demanding that liberals explain, for example, how Chris Dodd and Ted Kennedy could make “waitress sandwiches” and still retain the unstinting support of feminists — will again run head-on into the familiar reply: How dare you?

I don’t know Williamson’s opinion on Kennedy or Clinton but I’d be really interested to know. Exit question: How many people who are outraged in Massachusetts over the Mayor’s actions had opinions similar to Nina Burleigh concerning them Bill & Ted?

Bill Campbell talks to us again about his campaign and upcoming events.

The 7th of October, in Boston. Will you be there?

…on This week is obscene. He is being compared to the worst of the Islamists, how many killings has he called for?

There are a lot of different voices being heard from, the show isn’t as bad as it could be but the idea that Franklin Graham is the equivalent to a those who call for suicide bombings is simply nonsense.

Furthermore we hear the cry of the Spanish Inquisition of many centuries ago, ignoring numbers a bit more recent.

Take a look at the numbers. They speak for themselves.

Decided to grab something fast on the way to WCRN yesterday so I went up John Fitch Highway and look what I found:

Olver finds a spot on John Fitch Highway!

The saga of Fitchburg’s marvelous traveling Olver sign on John Fitch Highway continues! I was surprised to see it at the Mall near Burger King ,but a closer look made an interesting discovery

Where is the sign? Just over the line!

When I drove by it looked like it was at the Mall but while I was at the “Pay” window I found out the mulch was on the Burger king side. I asked the guy at the window (a shift leader) where the line was (mulch is Burger King up to the curb), and if it was corporate owned or franchise, (franchise), when I pointed out the sign he was surprised, he said the owner would never put out a sign, but he hadn’t noticed it because due to the placement you #1 couldn’t see it from the BK’s entrance and #2 You couldn’t tell what property it was on, this photo shows how close it was to the line.

Is it at the Burger King or the Mall?

That’s as far from the BK sign as you can get.

With all the Bill Gunn signs I’ve seen, (the BK shift leader noted seeing all of them too) if the guy wants to have a sign up on his property he certainly has a right to have one. I again took a little film:

This was about 12:45 p.m. At 7:45 I took my wife to dinner, and on the way home I drove by the location, guess what was missing? Didn’t have the camera with me so I couldn’t film it.

That sign is like Charlie on the MTA, will it ever return?

Stay tuned!