Archive for September 8, 2010

Gerry Dembrowski’s story is a very sad one as he is lost his wife during this campaign:

The idea that a person like Ed Markey who has been a real enabler for a lot of the nonsense we are dealing with is considered safe is disgraceful. Dembrowski’s presentation about who is to blame has an awful lot of truth to it, with one exception, we do bear some responsibility as we elected these people over and over again.

It’s our own fault we are in this mess, but by electing people like Gerry we can solve it.

Cannoli, business card and a book in happier times in Boston before takeoff

Landed in Washington tonight without incident but as I met my friend at the metro to head off for my first overnight in Burke to my horror I found that the Box of Cannoli that came with me all the way from Boston was missing!

I scanned the area, no luck, I checked at the police stop, no luck, I checked with TSA since it was an unmarked box nothing, although one TSA agent’s eyes lit up when I said the missing box contained fresh Cannoli (that’s what you would call a bad sign).

I had asked some baggage handlers if they wished to be interviewed, they declined, but they remembered me and said I had the box when I left their area. It’s possible that I put it down when I was giving a gentleman change for a two and someone grabbed it thinking it was some kind of valuable gift.

In the end it is a straight loss for me and my own fault. There is an outside chance that either Delta or the Police will give me an holler but I’m assuming that some officer, some thief or some average person is now enjoying a box full of the best cannoli that Dutch Kitchen can provide.

Yet I have no business complaining, on the way to the house we gassed up and at the station two police cars had pulled aside a young man and two of his friends. He had been stopped for a taillight but was driving with a suspended license so he had to wait while the police arranged to tow the vehicle. Compared to him I”m doing much better.

If losing that box of cannoli is the worst thing that happens to me in Washington then I’m doing fine, but I do apologize to my blogger buddies that I am not able to provided the cannolli. I feel guilty particularly since I’m sipping 18 year old Chivas Regal with a good friend as I type. I’ll wager the person who is eating that cannoli tonight might be jealous, at least a little bit.

Bill Hudak is looking to win the 6th district republican primary on the 14th. This is his presentation at the Reading Tea party on Sept 7th:

Hudak is an excellent speaker who did something that instantly made me like him. He started to run MONTHS before Scott Brown was elected and way before anyone thought the democrats were in trouble.

Rush Limbaugh said that the pioneers take the arrows. Hudak has gotten an awful lot of flack from the MSM and if he wins the nomination he will get even more (of course EVERY GOP candidate will) but Hudak seems to get their special ire as he was willing to stand out when nobody else was. I was also pleased with the answer to my question concerning helping the State GOP if he won, he said: Win or lose I will be helping the GOP locally.

Media attacks not withstanding I think Mr. Hudak will be a valuable asset to the Republican party in general and the conservative movement in particular for years to come.

It looks like I should have bid lower on this flight rather than just looking for a good price since with under 45 minutes to its departure the gate area is practically empty.

The free Logan wi-fi for the price of watching one 70 second ad is a deal to my liking as is the pleasure of viewing humanity. I finished Pam’s book on the drive and am now starting The Man who shot the Man who shot Lincoln. I suspect I’ll finish this before the week is through.

Meanwhile while I wait for a plane yet another factory closes thanks to democrats and their green friends:

What made the plant here vulnerable is, in part, a 2007 energy conservation measure passed by Congress that set standards essentially banning ordinary incandescents by 2014. The law will force millions of American households to switch to more efficient bulbs.

The resulting savings in energy and greenhouse-gas emissions are expected to be immense. But the move also had unintended consequences.

Rather than setting off a boom in the U.S. manufacture of replacement lights, the leading replacement lights are compact fluorescents, or CFLs, which are made almost entirely overseas, mostly in China.

Gateway pundit gets to the raw numbers:

212 democrats voted for this bill. 178 Republicans voted against the bill.

With those kind of numbers the attempt to generate fear of a “tea party congress” is unlikely to work. Particularly if Republicans promise to repeal this nonsense, that’s called actually saving jobs.

We get the government we deserve, right now the people believe they deserve better.

Memeorandum thread here.