Mr. DaTechGuy goes to CPAC part 2

Posted: March 4, 2010 in opinion/news, Uncategorized
Tags:

Once back at Smitty’s House my pattern began. Uploading videos to my newly created YouTube account DaTechGuyblog and scheduling posts. The most dynamic of those was bar none was Andrew Harper and Afro conservative. (She blogged about it here).

His statement “I’m not a token because I know who I am!” should be a rallying cry and his advice on the subject of not conceding the black vote to the democrats should be required listening to every conservative. Jumping in Pools and Capt. Ed should both interview him.

When morning came Smitty was making some business cards and although not insisting, suggested strongly that I follow suit. This advice was one of the best of CPAC.

Smitty conversations were one of the three great pleasures of CPAC. He is an intelligent and well read person with excellent opinions and insights on, well everything. On the ride to his house when I was picked up we talked a lot and on the Metro we talked even more. I can see why Stacy (hat grabber) McCain brought him on.

We headed to the Metro each with our fedora on and ready to roll. (I actually was wearing two, one for Barbara and one for myself. Strangely enough this didn’t elicit many stares). While traveling on the Metro I noticed something I had never seen before; a hard copy of the Onion. I took a snap shot of it and made conversation with the gentleman holding it. He had moved recently to the area and was a very interesting fellow.

On arrival at the Hotel I paid my registration (Thank you so much kind readers!) Upon seeing Barbara of the American Freedom blog handed her the Fedora she would be wearing and got in line to get our credentials. Barbara and Smitty had no problems, mine took a little longer as the young lady had trouble finding mine in the box. The most amusing thing was Stacy McCain, the actual professional reporter couldn’t get his. They couldn’t find them anywhere. (I put it down to his lack of Fedora which he left in Barbara’s room).

There was a slight mix concerning rooms. The media room was a little confined area that seemed totally inadequate for anything, but lo and behold the bloggers area was MUCH better. I don’t know if this was a reflection of CPAC’s opinion of the media or no.

I took advantage of this moment to break out the Cannoli, the first going to a group who I’d interviewed the night before.

We then got started with meeting bloggers. One of the things you find out right away is that bloggers in general are very accommodating and friendly people the second thing you discover is they love cannoli and fedoras.

Marco Rubio led things off and was very impressive taking me back to the Scott Brown election but Liz Cheney and the Vice president stole the show. They were delightful.

Shortly afterward some problems turned up on Barbara’s machine. Geek Squad migrated the data to her new machine without putting things where she wanted or installing certain programs. So I spent some time working on the computer and talking with Barbara who is simply fascinating. She combines practicality and a zest for life undimmed by years with a touch of a romantic streak.

By the time her machine was where I wanted it to be I discovered I missed Scott Brown. So I went back to shooting short films and taking a look around. One thing you find out right away is there is simply too much to see so I decided to concentrate on the short interviews and make plans to attend particular events. It was so weird to simply walk by and see so many people you read about or see on the news from Dick Armey (who thought I was trying to ambush him) to Doug Hoffman and many others. I also discovered that I had bad timing when it came to big names in the bloggers room, but to me the story of CPAC wasn’t there.

Since hotel food was so expensive and I was a little self conscious about people buying for me I walked to McDonald’s where I ran into some transit workers and got a few opposing views concerning CPAC from the locals.

That evening I was on a bus with a flock of bloggers on the way to the Freedom works party. This was wonderful as not only did Michelle Malkin film a greeting to my older brother but I got to meet Cynthia Yockey, Mary Katherine Ham and Captain Ed’s wife who is one of the most delightful people there is.

I caught the metro from there meeting Smitty with a bunch of material excited from an interesting day. Little did I realize how interesting and long tomorrow would be.

Update: If you missed part 1 (and even if you didn’t) it is here.

Update: Part 3 is up.

Comments
  1. […] If you missed them here are part 1 and part 2. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)The one event I didn’t want to miss was […]

  2. […] Datechguy goes to CPAC part 4 By datechguy Continuing the story from parts one, two and […]