There has been a bit of a war in comments…

Posted: February 24, 2010 in elections, opinion/news
Tags: , , , , , ,

…concerning my interview with Katherine Jenerette.

I can’t claim to know the facts, being a very long way away, nor do I claim to know the Mrs. Jenerette personally. My contact with her consisted of that interview and of sitting next to her as she had a long pleasant chat with a lady concerning life and children, and showing off pictures of our families. My gut says when someone attempts to personally ruin somebody with a chance for a congressional seat, that sounds very wrong. I think it smells.

What follows is pure speculation…

I’m guessing that she is doing well in a very crowded field, I’m guessing that the only chance that some people have to win is to attempt to bring her down any way they can and if her family has to suffer so be it.

How disgraceful, how disgusting! No single seat of power is worth such tactics and no candidate who uses or endorses such tactics is worthy of any high office. I’d sooner vote for an acolyte of Nancy Pelosi than someone who would use such methods.

And consider, this is a race in South Carolina, I am a Massachusetts Yankee who’s grandparents came from Sicily about 100 years ago. Can my interview and opinion be so critical to the voters of South Carolina that it has to be countered? How desperate must some people be?…

….end pure speculation.

I have always believed the best way to answer speech is more speech but this is a type of thing I’ve seen before and I don’t like it and since comments are moderated I can do something about it.

So here is what is going to happen. If you make a germane argument why this candidate should not be elected, a position you don’t like, a better candidate offered, etc I’ll allow the comment. Any further attempt to hit this lady’s family will not make it past the censor.

And yes this is censorship in the same way that I censor my sons if they use language that is not proper, in the same way that I expect guests in my house to behave with decorum.

I will repeat what I said before: My impression of this lady from the brief time I’ve met her is that she is a fine woman, with a fine family that she is very proud of. A man married to her deserves a handshake. I would be pleased if she was my congresswoman but even happier if she was my neighbor. I don’t know her husband and family but I think I’d like to.

And if you would like another perspective Smitty interviewed her too and likes her. Other than the lapse of allowing me to stay in his house during CPAC, he is a very good judge of Character.

Comments
  1. Hi DaTech: I wanted to assure you that Katherine Jenerette has a totally unblemished life. Some years ago Katherine and her family received an e-mail (and they have a copy as do I) which was an attempt to extort money from the Jenerette family. If they didn’t send money, then this person (helped by one SC political figure) would try to damage Katherine’s reputation. Yes, it was that heavy-handed. What about libel and slander laws? As we’ve seen in recent years, when someone is a political figure (running for any office, high or low), libel and slander laws are nearly impossible to enforce. If you ever run for office or even serve as a precinct chariman, anyone can say any darn thing they want about you or your family (ask Sarah and Bristol Palin).

    Gee, I wonder why good people don’t want to run for office? However, if good people don’t run for office, then we end up with what we now have: corrupt individuals basically running our lives. One of the people making the charges is a convicted, violent felon who’s spent time in a mental institution. She has vaguely suggested doing harm to the Jenerette children, of whom there are four. And, as I said, a SC politician has worked closely with said violent, convicted felon with the goal of defaming and otherwise harming this family. Not exactly a situation any of us would like to find ourselves in, to say the least.

    Is there evidence, real documentary proof, of the things I’m saying? To quote Sarah Palin, you betcha.

    Steve Maloney — Ambridge, PA

  2. 1st District voter says:

    I don’t know why I bother….
    You asked me to “provide links to support your statements” and I did. Then SRM posts some paranoid fantasies and you eat it up. There is NO reason why he can’t name the “SC political figure” if such a person actually exists. Where are the links for the characterization he attempts of Van Jenerette’s victim? And how well can he really know the Jenerette’s when, as far as I can tell, he’s an out of state pen pal?

    I am not a candidate or a political consultant. Such people ignore her out of pity or compassion and assure me she has no chance of winning. My only motivation is to report the truth, properly documented, and insure that MY representative in Congress is the most qualified, experienced and honorable.

  3. Mike N says:

    Follow the Money and follow the Katherine Jenerette campaigns: the personal-political opposition alliance-conspiracy is on a fishing expedition.

    The first internet allegations were made by the same person on the internet web site ‘Free Republic’ when Katherine nearly won the SC Senate election 2004. Then the accuser did nothing for over two and a half years until Katherine started her campaign for the U.S. Congress in 2007.

    Much more primary documentation is already in the public domain. As this unfolds, the facts, supported by direct evidence, will tell a far different story than has been reported in the media and on the internet over the past two years.