Archive for February 22, 2010

Or perhaps just before and I didn’t notice it. Tri-Town drive in has been a fixture in Lunenberg for decades, they have been talking about a housing project going in there but every time it was scheduled to start something put it off.

Apparently whatever it was that was stalling it was completed because when I drove by the giant screen that I have seen there all my life had disappeared.

I don’t know if there is another Drive in Movie Theatre in Massachusetts but I’m going to miss it terribly.

Suddenly I feel very old….

One of the interesting things about my 43 hour “Gonzo” moment was being in the bloggers lounge all alone. Because of that I saw individual bloggers come in one at a time.

Since I was in no condition to speak to anyone else I decided I’d have some fun doing quick interviews with bloggers.

These should have really been included with the Reagan award stuff but instead I’m going to put them up maybe one a day or a few a week to get them out there:

So lets start our field guide with that blogger in a cap, Yid with Lid.

Update: Maybe next year the lid will be a Fedora.

The Secret Service for the common man

Posted: February 22, 2010 in opinion/news
Tags:

I remember going to the Sarah Palin Rally in NH during the presidential campaign with my son. One of the things that struck me was the secret service.

They stood there calm and quiet watching everything and reacting. Very little if anything missed them and I was very impressed.

When I was done I asked if I could shake their hand (after all my tax money pays them) I got a fist bump instead as handshakes were not looked upon as safe.

I am typing this at the airport getting ready to fly home. (note: I didn’t even boot up my laptop from the trip until this morning, my posts last night were from the wife’s computer) There are a lot of people traveling, every single one of us has been through the line, laptop bags open, shoes off pockets emptied, when you are in a hurry it can be a pain, People have rightly complained that a better profile method would make more sense, but all are forgetting something…

Each one of those people by their very presence is making a deal with you the traveler. They are promising that they will do this repetitive and mundane task without treating it lightly. They promise that while they are there, that person will NOT get by with that bomb, They realize that if God forbid they DO find someone who is ready to detonate, they are going to be taking that blast and perhaps dying that day.

The secret service does this for the president every day. These men and women do this for the great and the lowly in the exact same way.

How do you repay someone willing to “take a bullet” for you who never even met you?

I reviewed her book a bit ago, you can buy it at Amazon.com here.

The terror argument she is given has some credibility due to the experience of her parents but it is still a question of defining what “torture” actually is. Before you go on about crossing the line it might be a good idea to know where the line actually is.