Some inconvenient truths about the Brown race…

Posted: January 6, 2010 in elections
Tags: , , ,

…were stated today by Jules Crittenden.

Fortunately for Coakley, this is Massachusetts, and she’s up against someone with a lot less name-recognition and the full strength of the Mass GOP behind him … snort … excuse me.

We have a history of electing Republican governors but never republicans representatives, During the height of that streak we couldn’t get republicans to run in districts let alone win in ones where they did. I can’t remember the last time were the democratic super majorities were challenged. The Mass GOP has all the competency of Lt. The Honourable George Colthurst St. Barleigh.

Meanwhile, she’s got heavy union vote insurance in this special mid-winter election. There is no reason to think she really has anything to worry about.

The teachers and public employee unions are going to go all out on this election, with an economy in the tank these guys know where their bread is buttered and are not going to do anything that they perceive could effect their job future…and it will.

And the worst of it:

As for the Globe, while the due diligence is impressive, I sense a nose-holding, “She’s timid and inept, coddled diddlers, but we need her to carry on Ted’s legacy” final endorsement coming on.

Last night was game night, 4 guys excluding myself showed up, all vote and all are independents. Not a single one believes Brown has a chance. I have yet to speak to an actual voter in person who thinks so.

I’ll still vote for him, and I’ll make the case for him with whoever I can but I’m not going to get my hopes all up nor my knickers in an uproar if he loses. I may be known for my mindless optimism but I’m just not seeing anything on the ground to support it here.

Speaking of mindless optimism and Lt. George…

This election has every chance of going the way of that trial.

Update: Glenn is right, we should still go all out, but we should do so with eyes wide open.

Update 2: Camp of the Saints links, thanks.

Update 3: Boy what a difference a couple of weeks makes. Compare this post with my one on Election night after 900+ miles around the state with Stacy McCain talking to voters everywhere we stopped.

Comments
  1. Adrienne says:

    I just sent a donation and volunteered to man the phones. Like you, I’m not thinking the people of Mass are suddenly going to grow a brain (no insult to you), but I must do what I can or I will lose my b*tching rights. I love to b*itch!!!

  2. bobbelvedere says:

    Quoted from and Linked to at:
    Don’t Get Your Hopes Up

  3. rightwinggamer says:

    Well, if Obama gets what he wants, the Coakley/Brown race may take a new look. Obama wants a tax on what he calls “Cadillac” insurance plans at a rate of 40%, another promise broken. Mind you, most of the Cadillac class plans are held by, wait for it… Unions. The 40% rate according to http://healthcare.change.org goes to insurance rates portions above $8000/yr. So a $9000 insurance plan will incur $400 per individual, billable to the insurance company, payable by the employer.

    Add the fact that Massachusetts Insurance Plans are among, if not, the most expensive in the nation.

    These plans will likely hit people making as little as $50k/year, if not possibly less. And you think anyone, even the left, will be warm to this idea?

    The 2010 elections if this comes through looks to be a bloodbath, possibly starting as early as Jan 19.

  4. […] The Right Wing Gaming room left a comment on my earlier post concerning the subject. He lives in a different part of the state so It will be […]

  5. […] free to check out my weekend Amazon Reviews. Read a Massachusetts Republican’s take on the Brown Coakley race. Check out my Dr. Who End of Time rant and read my poetic answer to Al Gore. Possibly […]

  6. […] the people at Breitbart’s Big Journalism prove that mindless optimism is not confined to myself and Lt. George: While it is true Mr. Johnson did not use the precise […]