Archive for August 21, 2009

And now a laugh break

Posted: August 21, 2009 in fun
Tags:

I’m still in the process of going through my list of Lutheran blogs for reaction to the nonsense in Minnesota. It’s a serious subject but in the course of looking through the blogs I ran into two posts that made me smile. As I need to lighten up a tad I include them here.

The first is from Stormfield Manor:

Many years ago, when I was in grade school, I was watching The Swiss Family Robinson with a family of half a dozen or so friends of ours, homeschoolers. We reached the bit where the girl who you’re still meant to think is a guy at that point is invited to sleep between the two brothers. S/he says s/he’d rather not. The oldest sister, who was four or five years older than I (and on whom I apparently had a crush–I was young enough that I remember very little) said, “Well, I wouldn’t want to sleep between two boys.”

To which I, thinking myself clever, responded, “Well I wouldn’t want to sleep between two girls.”

There was a rather mystifying complete silence.

As I grow older, I realize in more and more dimensions what I actually said.

It makes me laugh at night.

The second is from Susan’s Pendulum:

The teacher gave her fifth grade class an assignment: get their parents to tell them a story with a moral at the end of it. The next day the kids came back and one by one began to tell their stories.

Kathy said, “My father’s a farmer and we have a lot of egg-laying hens. One time we were taking our eggs to market in a basket on the front seat of the pickup when we hit a bump in the road and all the eggs went flying and broke and made a mess.”

“And what’s the moral of the story?” asked the teacher.

“Don’t put all your eggs in one basket!” Kathy answered.

“Very good,” said the teacher. Next little Lucy raised a hand and said, “Our family are farmers too. But we raise chickens for the meat market. We had a dozen eggs one time, but when they hatched we only got ten live chicks and the moral to this story is, don’t count your chickens until they’re hatched.”

“That was a fine story, Lucy. Johnny, do you have a story to share?”

“Yes, ma’am, my daddy told me this story about my Uncle Bob. Uncle Bob was a flight engineer in Desert Storm and his plane got hit. He had to bail out over enemy territory and all he had was a bottle of whiskey, a machine gun, and a machete.”

“He drank the whiskey on the way down so it wouldn’t break, and then he landed right in the middle of 100 enemy troops. He killed seventy of them with the machine gun until he ran out of bullets, then he killed twenty more with the machete till the blade broke, and then he killed the last ten with his bare hands.”

“Good heavens!” said the horrified teacher, “What kind of moral did your daddy tell you from that horrible story?”

“Stay the heck away from Uncle Bob when he’s been drinking!”

I know that God has a sense of humor, the proof is he created man.

…with the decision to allow gay clergy to no longer be celibate in the Lutheran Church.

The nation’s largest Lutheran denomination took openly gay clergy more fully into its fold Friday, as leaders of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America voted to lift a ban that prohibited sexually active gay and lesbian people from serving as ministers.

Under the new policy, individual ELCA congregations will be allowed to hire homosexuals as clergy as long as they are in a committed relationships. Until now, gays and lesbians had to remain celibate to serve as clergy.

Hey this was just what he was envisioning when he broke away from us Roman Catholics all those centuries ago starting the reformation and all that.

So now the Lutherans have endorsed specific biblical sin among clergy I say good luck to you guys.

Meanwhile if you are a Lutheran who actually takes Christianity seriously that old Roman Catholic Church that Martin decided wasn’t good enough before is still there.

We’d be pleased to welcome you in.

Oh and the American Papist notes another one of those coincidences that my friend Brian insists means nothing:

To be clear, it was not a “possible tornado,” it was an actual tornado. Local blogger Orate Fratres has pictures of the toppled steeple , and describes the event as one of those “things that make you go hmmm…”.

I mean, I don’t remember the Council of Trent being plagued by local meteorological disasters.

Yup just another coincidence.

Lutheran blog Not alone is not happy

When people say that they will agree to disagree, what they are saying is that they do not count these matters as important enough to press to the point that the other person is left with only two possible responses: either to abandon the belief that has been erroneously held and to come into agreement with the truth; or to reject what the other person believes and to reject the person who presses it as absolute truth.

This kind of conviction regarding what is believed is completely abandoned when people agree to disagree. Such an agreement is an agreement that the areas of disagreement really do not matter beyond being the expression of one’s personal opinion. Therefore the two parties can continue to be friends in the agreement that these matters are not of any real importance. They have agreed that there is nothing so important as to argue to the point of absolute agreement, and so they absolutely agree that nothing is to be absolutely rejected.

I, for one, do not agree.

I’ve looked at 20 or more different Lutheran blogs and this is the only one that seems to have even noticed the conference let alone the ruling.

I’ll check some more after supper.

UPDATE this post is now huge so I’ll add the More button here. (more…)

…that we’ve had in the last three months. I’ve lived in Worcester County Massachusetts for my entire life I don’t recall us being in a tornado watch area twice before, let alone twice in a year, but then again maybe I just wasn’t paying attention.

It’s rather harrowing when your teenage son is out driving in the western part of the state with friends when this is going on.

Considering how rare that stuff is around here it’s unlikely that it will develop but it’s a new experience for me.

How do you guys in the midwest put up with it?

Off to Kimball Farm in a bit

Posted: August 21, 2009 in fun
Tags: ,

There is a ton to do there from Golf, to bumperboats hot air balloon rides and homemade icecream so blogging will likely be thin the rest of day.