Archive for August 15, 2009

Shameless Rule 2 Linkage

Posted: August 15, 2009 in fun
Tags:

I’ve actually been reading The Other McCain for quite a while and have linked to his blog on several occasions but for some reason or another I’ve never bothered to add him to the blogroll.

Thinking about it I really don’t have a good explanation for not adding him except for the idea that if the roll gets too large it just becomes another name on an ignored list.

But my roll isn’t that long and since I’m in a sense “blogwhoring” a bit I shall bow to Rule 2 and add The Other McCain to the blogroll as soon as this post is up.

As for his tipjar, lets wait until the job comes.

What do you do when your congresswoman decided not to bother with the people she represents?

Rep. Gabrielle Giffords cancelled an appearance in Green Valley/Sahuarita this week, instead moving the planned public meeting on veterans issues to Davis-Monthan Air Force Base in Tucson.

If you are her GOP opponent you show up instead:

When Rep. Gabrielle Giffords cancelled a town hall meeting at American Legion Post #66 in Sahuarita, a potential contender for her congressional seat announced he would step in.

Jesse Kelly, who is vying for the GOP nod to run against Giffords next year in Arizona’s 8th District, said Giffords is fleeing from her responsibilities as an elected official.

“If our representative will not come out and hear people’s thoughts on these issues, if she will not come out and face the voters who elected her, I will,” he said.

Giffords had planned to address veterans issues Thursday at the American Legion Post but combined that and another appearance at Pima Community College into one meeting that will be held Thursday at Davis-Monthan Air Force Base in Tucson. Giffords’ spokesman C.J. Karamargin said the decision was made in order to consolidate two separate meetings covering military issues.

There is video via Gilla Courier and the 8th.

It’s hard to represent people if you are afraid of them.

If I’m the GOP I would use the English Shadow Cabinet model and set up town halls and invite democratic members of congress to show, and if they don’t have their “Shadow congressman” show up instead.

That would make some news.

Via Glenn.

Update: Moe Lane notices

My Church St. Anthony Di Padua in Fitchburg Mass will be holding its now revived Madonna Della Cava procession with the banner, a band, statue, etc, this Sunday August 16, 2009.

The Procession will start at the school with the Band and statue Banner and will be followed by mass at 10:30 and Italian Food and assorted pastries served at no charge in the Church Hall. Music will be from the Leominister Colonial Band.

A Rosary in Italian will be said to close the festivities.

We aren’t as big as the Boston stuff but we are growing.

Oh and BTW let me give a shout out to Kevin Caravella. Since he took over the parish web site it is really something. It’s 10 times better than anything I did with it. Well done!

Cripes we even have a blog now.

Happy VJ day

Posted: August 15, 2009 in personal, war
Tags:

Today is VJ Day. The day to celebrate the surrender of Japan and the end of the Second World War.

This is a very important day for me as if it didn’t come when it did, there is a chance that I would be here.

My father came home from the pacific Married my mother and in 1963 the last of their children was born.

As far as I’m concerned I owe my life and the lives of all of my children to VJ day coming when it did.

To all of those who fought and to all of those who developed the weapons that won it I offer my heartfelt thanks.