Know Nothings in Connecticut

Posted: March 11, 2009 in catholic
Tags: ,

I didn’t cover the goings on in Connecticut concerning the Church. Just about every other Catholic blogger did.

Was the bill outrageous, of course it was? Was it Anti-Catholic? Without a question. Was it an attempt to undermine the church? Why Soitenly.

Well then Mr. Loud mouth Catholic why didn’t you bother to deal with it?

Because this is part of the job description of the Church. Of course it is going to be attacked. Of course people are going to try to marginalize it of course people want a weak, faithless church.

The Church is the longest and strongest bastion standing between us and the gates of hell. As long as that is the case it will always be a target. The day it stops being a target is the day that I will start worrying if it is being true to itself.

If the world hates you, realize that it hated me first. If you belonged to the world, the world would love its own; but because you do not belong to the world, and I have chosen you out of the world, the world hates you. Remember the word I spoke to you, ‘No slave is greater than his master.’ If they persecuted me, they will also persecute you. If they kept my word, they will also keep yours. And they will do all these things to you on account of my name, because they do not know the one who sent me. If I had not come and spoken to them, they would have no sin; but as it is they have no excuse for their sin. Whoever hates me also hates my Father. If I had not done works among them that no one else ever did, they would not have sin; but as it is, they have seen and hated both me and my Father. John 15:18-24

We already know the end of this story overall, we just have to make sure our personal story doesn’t end on the wrong note.

Comments
  1. […] this is part of the job description: If the world hates you, realize that it hated me first. If you belonged to the world, the world […]

  2. […] Tobin should be prepared to be attacked by every media in the MSM, apparently he read the job description and it doesn’t bother him. A commentator on Lucianne nails it: Reply 16 – Posted by: […]

  3. […] was stating nothing that Christ himself didn’t say as we’ve quoted here before If the world hates you, realize that it hated me first. If you belonged to the world, the […]