The Anchoress writes THE Arizona media post

Posted: January 13, 2011 in media
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’m in the process of writing a critique column for the Examiner on the media’s reaction events in Arizona but if spend the entire day working on it I suspect it will not compare to this post by Elizabeth Scalia the Anchoress.

“Today was supposed to be set-aside for the victims,” someone posted on twitter, “Palin decided she is one of them.”

No. Sarah Palin made a statement that was contextual, relevant and appropriate to the day. The press, if they really wanted to put the day aside for the victims, could have simply reported that Palin made a statement, and moved on. In truth, they could have utterly ignored Palin’s statement altogether, because she really is not part of this story.

But they did not, because they cannot. Where Sarah Palin is concerned, the mainstream press and the political pundit class are like 14 year olds obsessing over the social order of the cafeteria, and especially that stupid new cootie girl, ewwww.

They are the spiteful, malevolent and immature teenagers in “Carrie,” armed with pig-blood and just looking for any opportunity to pour it.

They are repulsive in their clique; one wants to take them by their shoulders and shake them and say “grow up! GROW UP!”

Read the whole thing, is it the best piece I’ve seen on the subject. Also not to be missed is NeoNeocon’s piece.

I believe that, like her or hate her (and I’ve gone on record saying I don’t think she’s a good candidate for the 2012 presidency), Palin chooses her phrases carefully and knows what she’s doing. And I would guess that, as a religious Christian and strong supporter of Israels and Jews, Palin knows exactly what the blood libel is and has an awareness of the history behind the use of the phrase.

I am wondering how it would feel to be reeling from hearing the dreadful news of the Tucson assassination/massacre, and then almost immediately to find oneself accused of inciting it by press and an opposition solemnly and sanctimoniously intoning the charge in transparently hypocritical hope of elevating the tone of political discourse while simultaneously pointing the finger of bloody guilt at their hated opponent. You know, the phrase “blood libel” might just come to mind.

I know I will add only a few hits after Glenn and Elizabeth but I can say that she as intelligent and delightful in person as she is online.

Update: More attempted scrubbing on the left, and makes the following point in a follow up post:

What is most remarkable about these death wishes is that they were done in the open and often with the identity of the person not hidden. The identities of the tweeters and the people who “liked” the Facebook pages were readily identifiable in many cases.

Why do these people, many of whom are professionals, feel no fear in expressing such death wishes in the open?

Because they know that the media will never call them out for death threats against Sarah Palin. I will be delighted in a show like Morning Joe proves me wrong.

Comments
  1. RWB says:

    We must move beyond the tit for tat that has occurred since this horrific crime in AZ. I choose to remain some what anonymous yet I also choose my words very carefully. Let others engage in a hateful vitriolic attacks; that will not change me or what I say. I am a conservative, I am a member of the Worcester Tea Party, and I know that everything I write is judged by some in light of that. But politics is too important to be left up to the politicians. If we want everyone to participate in civic discussions we must expect to hear some remarks that we would prefer not to hear. I am sure that Sarah Palin is comfortable enough in her own skin that such ugly remarks don’t keep her up at night.

  2. Roxeanne de Luca says:

    That’s some wonderful writing. :) Go, Elizabeth!

  3. dahospitalityguy says:

    What else do you expect on a slow news day with 24 Hour non-stop news?
    Do Bubble Boy, guy on the back of a stolen 18-wheeler, or the slow speed white Ford Bronco chase (the one that started it all) ring a bell?

    The media jumps on, and debates the heck out of and overkills, the most inconsequential events of the day and hypes them up as much as they possibly can in order to avoid dead air.