Thoughts for an overnight

Posted: September 26, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags:

I’m writing this on Tuesday at 2 a.m. at home, I’m actually in a hotel room near Boston after attending a wedding but DaWife is always happier when the PC is not around so figured I’d schedule some thoughts.

Just read Ed Driscoll’ Jon Hamm bit, its good but the most interesting thing about it the reference to Bill Whittle’s old Eject Eject Eject piece.

That’s doesn’t mean Driscoll isn’t a good blogger (he is) but it’s amazing just how Damn good Whittle’s pieces are and how well they stand up, same with old Den Beste pieces 20 years from now we will still be reading them.

Don’t get me wrong I’m grateful for every Instalanche I get but it puts you in your place when you manage your best non-instalance week you’ve ever done with a ton of (what I think) are strong posts and then the next week begins with a ‘lanche and your traffic topsthe best two days of the previous week that you were so proud of combined.

Is there a better movie deal than the combo of Netflix and Wii unlimited movies a month for $9-16 bucks? Nope.

An awful lot of people are in twenty years are going to have crummy eyes and ears due to Ipod and small screens.

And a kindle is cool but I’d rather have a book that I don’t have to worry about dropping and ruining, or getting wet, or cracking my screen etc, etc etc.

If there is one thing I’ve learned from interviewing 100′s of average people is they are a lot smarter than the elites and the press give them credit for…

Also a lot more decent, they don’t use their education to rationalize right and wrong.

It appears the thrill is gone from the Leg of Chris Matthews, I’m just wondering if he is building street cred for the days post election, or maybe he is worried about Lawrence O’Donnell.

And may I say O’Donnell is one of those rarities, an unabashed partisan hack who is actually incredibly smart and understands how legislation works.

The networks hope and pray they are right about Christine O’Donnell because if they aren’t Massachusetts is not going to be a big source of good news for them on election Day.

Every dollar you spend in Ma-1 to elect Bill Gunn is a dollar well spent.

Same with Mattie Fein in ca-36…

…And Renee Ellmers in Nc-2

…and Liz Carter in Ga-4

and DaTipJar too but I digress

This year as of Tuesday 3 a.m. I’m over 154,000 hits for the year, that is triple my hits for the previous year (the first of the blog) by the end of the year I hope to be 1/4 of the way toward the Stacy McCain “how to get a million hits on your blog” path, I’m not much for rule 4 & 5 but I’m not so bad with 2, 3 and 6.

It is never more vital to be a cheery optimistic sort than when you have $300k+ in life insurance and under 8 weeks of unemployment left.

Also good to be Catholic at such a time too. Actually it is good to be a Catholic at any time as The Anchoress demonstrates every day.

Speaking of which there is nothing like a firm grasp of history to keep you from whining about your problems.

Or a Sicilian mother who grew up in the depression.

We Sicilians are in a bad way right now. Jersey shore is undoing decades of subtle attempts to get people to fear us and leave us alone.

And people don’t realize how much work Smitty has to do for those blog aggregates that are done on weekends at Stacy’s place.

Sometime this year or next the IPOD will be too full to hold another Dr. Who audio. Who ever figured I’d have so many gigs of adventures?

You never really lose the geek, it just goes to acceptable places.

Update: Awoke from the bed at the hotel to another Instalanche, (although not to this post) so let me say right now. Glenn: Feel free to put me in my place as often as you can!

Comments are closed.