Lots of interesting races but for me there are three that stand out for me.

Kamal Jain at the Twin City Tea Party March 2010

Two of them are statewide: State Auditor features two spectacular candidates Mary Z. Connaughton and Kamal Jain are both seeking the auditor’s office. Mary has the experience as a CPA, Kamal has some spectacular ideas and experience as an efficiency expert. I will be happy with either candidate picking one is going to be the toughest vote I’ve ever cast. I keep going back and forth and I likely won’t make a final decision until I get into the booth. (Whoever loses this race needs to run for another office in 2012 so I can vote for them)

Mary Connaughton in Framingham August 2010

For Attorney General Guy Carbone and James McKenna are both running Sticker campaigns. Again both are more than acceptable. Carbone is paisan, his story is the story of my family, his patron saint is the patron of my church (St. Anthony di Padua) and his positions sync with mine, James McKenna is not paisan, I have no idea of his family background, but our positions also sync, I have some familiarity with his work as a prosecutor and his work with ethics and he will get my vote today.

Jim McKenna (right) at the Reading Tea party 9/2010


There are also contested primaries in the congressional races for the 5th, 3rd and 10th districts, most of the action is on the GOP side.

The other race that interests me in on the Democratic side and is local. For Worcester County Sheriff you have Tom Foley vs Scott Bove. Massachusetts is one of the few states where the Sheriff’s office is not very powerful. Foley has a long experience in law enforcement but Bove has 20 years at the prison itself as a Co. Since the primary duty is to run the prison Foley has to have my nod.

Scott Bove (D) for Sheriff


These races won’t get the press that Christine O’Donnell vs Mike Castle is getting in Delaware but the names in these small races often are where future reps, governors, and congressmen come from. The Mass GOP is building up its farm system and will be ready to play hardball in 2012.

Comments are closed.