You can’t go very far in this area without finding a church of one kind or another.

Big and small, wide and narrow, some based out of houses and others consisting of many buildings churches do the landscape with ministry after ministry of almost every protestant denomination that you can find.

It reaches a point after a while that you almost don’t notice but you can’t help but notice the New Birth Church.

New Birth Sign


New Birth is an imposing structure a church that it takes over a minute to drive around, a church that has a fitness center in a different building, St. Thomas would have had to see it to believe it.

View from a distance


The main area for reception there was literally enough room to fit then entire 1st and second floors of St. Anthony di Pauda in that hallway. Even more impressive were the sculptures of biblical scenes. They are throughout the building and really lend an air.

The Agony in the Garden

Israel wrestling with an Angel

The death of Sampson

The Main area of Worship holds over 6500 people. of a congregation of over 10,000. The small chapel holds more people than St. Anthony’s twice over.

Joe at the Front of the small Chapel

And really how many churches have had 4 presidents of the US attend a service there at once

4 US presidents at the funeral of Coretta Scott King

There is much more from a bookshop, to a bridal suite, and a school for k-12 that oddly enough has an enrollment about equal or slightly less that St. Anthony’s in Fitchburg. With a flock over 10,000 to look after the Pastor was not available at the time of my unannounced visit but I want to give the thanks are due for the tour that was arranged without notice. It is a big place and it took quite a bit of a very nice lady’s time in the afternoon to let us see it. I may upload the rest of the photos after I get home.

St. Benedict the Moor

In comparison Christ our Hope Catholic Church is almost an afterthought. Catholic churches like a pebble on the beach hear, but but they exist and are growing. I had the pleasure of speaking with (and being blessed by) the Pastor Fr. Guyma Noel

His congregation is growing rapidly, and the church has done it’s best to manage. The church has a large black congregation and stained glass windows of St. Martin de Pourus and St. Benedict the Moore are joined by Martin Luther King and the Holy family.

The Holy Family & MLK

We talked about the differences between here and his home country of Haiti. Many priests are coming to America from Hatti, South America and Africa while money and aid flows to South from America. As the US is in need of good and faithful priests, I think we are getting the better of the deal, I think sometimes we are like the Rich Young man in Luke 18:18-24.

I spoke Vinnie’s next door neighbor who is also a minister, Rev Al Wilson.

He knew the answer!

, it was a wonderful conversation about faith, child rearing and various subjects, but my favorite part was he like Fr. Noel BOTH got my Christianity question RIGHT!

Comments
  1. [...] A very good sitdown with the Champion Free Press My old friends and me A Doraville thankyou post. A church Tale where I talk about some of the churches I visited Two posts about the one unpleasant moment of the [...]

  2. [...] A very good sitdown with the Champion Free Press My old friends and me A Doraville thankyou post. A church Tale where I talk about some of the churches I visited Two posts about the one unpleasant moment of the [...]