Breakfast in America Mamie’s Kitchen ga-4

Posted: May 24, 2010 in blogger for hire, elections, opinion/news, special events
Tags: , , , , ,

This morning I spent a couple of hours in Mamie’s kitchen in Lithonia Ga talking to the various patrons and eating some breakfast.

Breakfast at Mamie's Kitchen

If there is one thing that being here in Georgia is going to do, it’s going to spoil me when it comes to Bacon, only the slab Bacon at Romano’s compares to what I’ve gotten here (I’d take Romano’s sausage but that’s fresh made and Italian. All sausage is local?) the breakfast was first rate and the people were pretty friendly especially considering that I was an outsider disturbing them during breakfast.

A steady line both at the counter and the drive through window

I talked to several people at Mamie’s of all different jobs, Truck Driver, landscaper, student and the CEO of a company that employs 150 people. Almost all of the people I talked to were transplants and the basic things I found was this:

  • Very few people seem to be following the race closely at this time.
  • There is an inordinate amount of transplanted people in this area (Lithonia).
  • There are two reason people come to GA in general and Ga-4 in particular Quality of Life (So far the food really backs that up) and Jobs.
  • Among the black community it is going to be very tough for a republican to draw votes.

From talking to the people, how they think and the way they live, this should not be so, particularly if you have a conservative values republican. Such a candidate should fit like a glove. This is a question I will need to explore deeper while I’m here.

One final thing that all the people I met had in common. I liked them. They are good people and I think every one of them would be a neighbor I’d like living on my street.

Comments
  1. [...] onion rings, the Frosted Orange and the fried peach pie.) However, does he seem to have enjoyed breakfast at Mamie’s in Lithonia, and he had a very interesting interview with local journalist Jennifer Parker:In 2008 she was [...]

  2. [...] Instalanche! Thanks Glenn. More of my Georgia-4 coverage from Mamie’s Kitchen and from a local paper The Crossroads news. I just under an hour ago got back from a candidate [...]

  3. [...] arrived post) Voices of Georgia: Rochelle (my first interview and I comment on sedition back home) Breakfast in America Mamie’s Kitchen ga-4 (I talk to patrons of a local coffee shop) A talk with the Crossroads News (The Rather [...]

  4. RR Ryan says:

    Good Heavens! Go to the Varsity next to Georgia Tech or Junior’s, which I understand has moved into one of the new Admin buildings on campus. Neither is haute cuisine, but they’re both experiences not to be missed

  5. [...] -Breakfast in America Mamie’s Kitchen ga-4.  A highlight: One final thing that all the people I met had in common. I liked them. They are good people and I think every one of them would be a neighbor I’d like living on my street. [...]

  6. [...] arrived post) Voices of Georgia: Rochelle (my first interview and I comment on sedition back home) Breakfast in America Mamie’s Kitchen ga-4 (I talk to patrons of a local coffee shop) A talk with the Crossroads News (The Rather [...]