A Spectacular idea

Posted: April 21, 2010 in catholic
Tags: ,

The Anchoress informs me of an incredible suggestion:

So here is my question for you. What if our bishops chose to do public penance? What if they lay prostrate or knelt in front of their cathedrals as penitents before each Mass on the weekend closest to the feast of St.Peter and Paul or on the feast of the Sacred Heart of Jesus or some other appropriate day or days? Or, even better, on the first Friday of every month for the next year starting with the feast of the Sacred Heart or Sts.Peter and Paul? And what if we, as their deacons, as an order in the Church, in all humility, not only called on our bishops to do public penance, but offered to join them in it?

To those who do not understand Catholicism this might not seem like much but within the Church it would be earth shattering, and the suggestion of inclusion of the laity is even better:

As a lay person, I would participate in this prostration, with my pope, my bishops and priests and all the rest. I would participate as a means of communicating to the victims that I have heard them and that I am united to them, angry for them and ashamed on their behalf, and also to express to the whole world that I too am a sinner, in need of mercy. I would prostrate myself as to express unity with the clergy and religious, that they are no more outside of redemption than the rest of us, that they are valued and their healing is as necessary to the Body of Christ as is the healing of the victims.

My participation would also demonstrate my intention to remain within this injured body, contributing to both its weakness and its strengths, because I know my redeemer lives, and that we all shall rise again.

Count me in.

Comments
  1. Penny says:

    I am not a Catholic but the recent coverage of the media of the sex abuse scandals and trying to link the Pope to cover ups is just ridiculous. The MSM is falling all over themselves to cover this while conveniently ignoring the fact that more abuse of children takes place in our public schools than has ever taken place in the church….but you sure don’t see them attacking the teacher’s unions or the NEA.
    I don’t know who said this but it is so true and I think applies here….”Don’t put your faith in a Christian, they will always let you down. Put your faith in Christ where it belongs.” I hope Catholics everywhere can keep their faith and not let it be destroyed by those with a political agenda.