A quick point about the statement reprinted at both…

Posted: March 22, 2010 in opinion/news
Tags: , ,

Little Miss Attila’s and the Anchoress’ sites. Near the end of the presentation the writer asks a question.

I am not certain why this very obvious outcome has not been openly discussed more often

It is because when your goal is to socialize medicine this result is a feature not a bug.

Let’s ask a better question. Considering the number of years that it takes to become a doctor and the result this will have on the profitability of that business, will the best and brightest choose medicine? Given what will happen to the pharmaceutical field will the smart young person go that route when choosing a career?

The best in the batch can usually write their own ticket, the government just canceled the tickets to the medical field and unfortunately for me and my sons the primary effects of that cancellation of that ticket will hit when I am of retirement age and when they are my age. Perhaps by then I will not be considered cost effective enough to be allowed care. Not to worry, with some luck the heart problems my father had might hit me well before then…but I’d have to take up drinking and smoking.

Comments
  1. [...] asks two good questions: …Considering the number of years that it takes to become a doctor and the result this will [...]

  2. More people with health insurance + more people get to see a Primary Care Physicians instead of Emergency Room visits = Demand for Doctors.

    Why wouldn’t a person who has the education not want to have a *guaranteed* job after school is completed?