The Sentinel & Enterprise covered yesterday’s protest…

Posted: January 29, 2010 by datechguy in catholic, internet/free speech, opinion/news
Tags: , , , , , , ,

..against Planned Parenthood and had a quote from city counselor Rosemary Reynolds that every pol who claims Catholicism should memorize:

Reynolds said she was protesting as a resident, and a member of the City Council, against Planned Parenthood coming to Fitchburg.

“I’m one person. I don’t divide myself,” Reynolds said.

As Emily Devlin reports there were quite a few people beeping in support of the protesters. I noticed one driver in particular who showed more enthusiasm than sense giving two thumbs up while taking his hands off the wheel in a snowstorm.

Devlin like Stacy and myself, quotes Fr. Bruso:

Bruso said a Main Street location, just down the street from Longsjo Middle School, makes the prospect of a Planned Parenthood office in Fitchburg even less palpable. Planned Parenthood is trying to depict itself as an agency that is only planning to educate the community about sexual health, Bruso said, but he believes that’s not the case.

“They don’t make money by giving out literature. They make money by performing abortions,” Bruso said.

And it would appear that for the second time this month events in Fitchburg are drawing more notice than usual. National notice.

If yesterday was any indication then the Battle of Fitchburg as Stacy put it will not be a silent one. Tuesday’s counsel meeting will be rather interesting.

My complements to Emily Devlin. The story is a pretty accurate one, the Sentinel has does good work covering this story thus far.

Update: Haemet links and states a basic truth:

it is entirely hypocritical for Planned Parenthood to advocate for treating sexual health like any other health issue; after all, this is the group that fights parental notification and parental consent laws

Meanwhile Creative Minority report is as impressed with Rosemary Reynolds as I am.

Comments
  1. matt says:

    great line. Now if we could just get Nancy Pelosi to say it.

  2. […] next week, and certainly you can expect to hear more about this battle in the near future. Da Tech Guy is on the story. var addthis_pub='smitty1e';var addthis_language='en';var addthis_options='twitter, digg, email, […]

  3. […] Da TechGuy, Sicilian gentleman extraordinaire, alerted me to the potential opening of a Planned Parenthood clinic in Fitchburg, Massachusetts. […]

  4. […] had been talking about covering the protest downtown and hadn’t specified my own position on the matter. So I answered him directly that I was pro […]

  5. FMJRA Roundup: Sound and Fury Edition…

  6. […] Meanwhile my shock continues as Dan Collins of POWIP also bangs the drum for more Fedoras at CPAC while Ruby slippers links to my Planned Parenthood in Fitchburg post. […]

  7. […] statement would have surprised both Kind and X. This person needs to be introduced to Rosemary “I’m one person. I don’t divide myself” Reynolds […]

  8. […] if you’ve been reading about Fr. Bruso you know the […]