Open house running thread

Posted: January 2, 2010 by datechguy in personal
Tags:

16 guests so far in the first hour. The ribs are nearly gone as is 1/4 of the 1st Lasagna.

Plenty of people coming, I don’t know how many are long term or short term, for the first time ever my mother isn’t the first one there.

4:45 p.m. 36 people and about 8 have left Need at least another dozen or so.

5:49 p.m. Lasagna #1 is gone, All the ribs are gone, Batch #2 of wings is about to come out of the oven and the Trifle is nearly finished. 39 People and the evening home stretch crowd has not arrived, about 15 have left but there are people in every room and things show no sign of slowing down!

6:23 p.m Last batch of wings is out 41 people and the wine is coming out more.

7:38 p.m. 43 and my son is picking up two more friends at least, the crash rule might be going into effect.

8:34 p.m. The third wave is here, we are up to 50. All that is left for food is 1/2 a Lasagna and about a dozen wings, the veggies and salad are nearly done too, however we have more beer than we started with. weather and illness has robbed us of a lot of people but at least 35% of the crowd is here for the first time! If the crowd continues to grow we may actually need to call for Pizza!

9:32 p.m. 4 Large pizza’s added to the stack of food party still cranking.

11:00 p.m. #51 just showed up, new record. There are an inordinate amount of teenagers here, apparently their parents know that they won’t be given booze here.

11:34 p.m. The last adult has left, there are still 3-5 college age teenagers upstairs playing pinball we are cleaning up what we can downstairs. I’m not betting on any new arrivals. It appears nobody will win this years’ readers prize which was an Amazon gift card.

12:06 p.m. The last two guests have left. Total for the evening 51 guests over the course of 10 hours. Until 10:30 or so we never had less than 10 guests in the house at any time. If it wasn’t for the storm and some sickness I think we would have managed 70.

Comments
  1. Adrienne says:

    I want my lasagna mailed to me!!!!!!!

  2. […] Johnson wars continue By datechguy I was rather tied up yesterday as you might have heard so I missed every bit of the Gateway to Johnson to Patterico and then the […]

  3. […] Welcome all and take a look around, there wasn’t much going on today or yesterday due to the annual open house, but see my review of the End of Time part 2, Learn why Babe Ruth is greater than Aaron, Williams […]

  4. […] Is this good news or bad news for Scott Brown? By datechguy I don’t know, all I DO know is although I see a lot all over the blogs concerning the senate race here, I have yet to hear a single person mention the election to me, not in the diner, not at the Knights of Columbus meeting, not at a recent funeral and not at the open house. […]