Lets look at some numbers

Posted: September 12, 2009 in internet/free speech, opinion/news
Tags: , , , ,

Ok we can safely say that the attendance at the 9/12 rally was between 500,000 and 2 million people. Either way that an awful lot of people.

The MSM will see this sign

The MSM will see this sign

Charles Johnson has seen some signs he didn’t like, and also pointed out that the John Birch Society planned to attend. He didn’t mention the Ron Paul guys but from the Tea Party in Boston I attended a few months ago there were a few Ron Paul guys there so I’d be shocked if there weren’t thousands of Paulians there.

I didn’t like the signs he pointed out either, the John Birch Society are a bunch of nuts and I’m already on record referring to Ron Paul as a Crazy Uncle.

On that subject lets talk about crazy uncles:

It’s not so odd that 1% of any population might be off its rocker, the problem is in a country of 300,000,000 that is 3 million people. Even if 1/10 of one percent is crackers that’s 300,000 people. To give you some perspective that’s more troops than we have in Iraq or Afghanistan.

Based on the 1% theory that would put the number of absolute nuts there between 5,000 and 200,000. If you use the 1/10 theory that makes a range of 500-20,000

Now if I’m the MSM and I’ve ignored the buildup to this story I’m going to highlight those crazy uncles and their signs and dismiss the movement altogether.

A promoter of the parties might choose to totally ignore the crazy uncles altogether.

As I proclaim myself a normal reasonable person I’m going to notice between 499,500 and 1,980,000 normal American with legitimate complaints about the moves this government has made without forgetting also that there is going to be a smattering of crazy uncles in the mix.racism anyway

Oh and I suspect like the Boston Tea Party I attended there will be practically no arrests (if any) and no damage. After all these are the taxpayers, they would be paying for repairs.

I submit that the last sign and the stuff you will see posted by Vodkapundit and Glenn (where 12,000 showed up in Illinois) are much more typical. And I’ll also bet that all the adults know what their signs say.

Everyone is entitled to their opinion but based on what I’ve seen both from the net and personally 99% or more of these are regular people who have just decided they’ve had enough. There will be hangers on who want attention and the movement should take note to keep the fringes on the fringe. Pointing that out is just being honest, but attempts to make this something this movement something is not that’s either an agenda or Sullivan’s syndrome.

Update: More signs via the corner

Comments
  1. [...] McCain/Johnson Round 3 By datechguy Round 3 Johnson dances hitting the tea party protests magnifying the 1% crazy uncles. [...]

  2. [...] McCain/Charles Johnson brawl and why McCain is the richest man in the blogosphere, Discover the 1% rule, find why President Obama gets two thumbs up and will never send troops against tea party [...]

  3. [...] you something the president did right, about girls who will fall for anything to be famous, the crazy 1% theory of mass protest, why 9/11 means victory for the US in an important respect, Why friends of abortion [...]

  4. [...] came the attack on the Tea Parties in general and Robert Stacy in [...]

  5. [...] that the media has used to discredit movements that don’t have their imprimatur. One of my early disputes with Charles Johnson on his blog that led to my eventual banning at LGF (I posted there under my [...]